Restoration of Univ Holy Assumption monastery- fortress
Location: Univ, Ukraine
The ensemble of the Holy Assumption monastery is situated on the picturesque valley between the hills Koranta and Chernytcya near the miraculous source. Univ monastery- fortress is one of the most interesting architectural ensembles in Ukraine. As historical, cultural and educational relic, it was first mentioned in manuscripts as long as 1395. The church built from stone was re-established in the XVI century. The stone walls with wooden cells and wooden corner towers were erected around the church. Archimandrites Varlaam Sheptytskyi and Athanasius Sheptytskyi in the first half of XVIII century rebuilt the monastery.In 1816 under the first Halician Metropolitan Mykhailo Levytskyi Univ became a metropolitan residence. The twostories palace was built. Metropolitan Andrew Sheptytskyi passed Univ monastery on to be used as Studite Lauvra in 1919. The original buildings of the monastery and of the church was rebuilt more than once.
In 1994 restoration works started to reestablish the complex of Univ monastery. The new planning scheme was founded on the `Typikon`- it is collection of the rules for Studite monks. The deep interrelations between architecture and theology are established by light, proportions, details and spatial order of the monastery. The monastery buildings are covered with a roof made of the black ceramic tiles. As black absorbs the sun`s rays, the roofs draw energy of environmental meadows and woods, that to give it to thirsty. `Black and white` it is the minimalistic colour decision for the given function on the background of the magnificent nature. Serenity and simplicity are the main precepts of the planning, of the laconic interiors and exteriors of the monastery. Words are not needed, where history speaks of a dialogue with God.